Not so much when (February), but where...

Weather, seasons, holidays, good and bad times

Moderator: sinan

Nornny

Not so much when (February), but where...

Post by Nornny » Tue Jan 22, 2013 6:49 pm

I took advantage of the super cheap airfare to Istanbul on United and Turkish Airways, and will be spending a little over a week in Turkey in February (Feb 15-Feb 24). With the trip booked so last minute, I am hoping this community can help me plan an itinerary, as I try to plot an itinerary that best takes advantage of this off-season trip.

It is my first time in Turkey, but certainly don't believe it will be my last, so I am okay with spending only a day or two in Instanbul and immediately getting out of the city. I understand I can spend a week in Istanbul and not catch everything, so I'm tempted not to bother beyond seeing some of the highlights.

A very strong part of me wants to spend as many days actively hiking/trekking, walking, and being active as possible and thought doing segments of the Lycian Way was a strong possibility or hiking around Cappadocia. I doubt I can do both, and maybe I have blinders on to an even better region to explore at this time of year.

I'm very big on great scenery (for photography), but also history/culture. I would love to happen upon ruins and ancient history and small villages along the way without just taking a tour bus directly to a major site or attraction. I tend to shy away from touristy destinations, but I'm learning nothing in Turkey will be super overrun in mid-February.

The most ideal trip for me is to have a car or public transportation, where I can base myself in an area, and do some spectacular dayhikes, and return back to base (where I can pick up my bag and move on to the next town or starting point).

I hope this isn't too specific. My concerns isn't braving the weather (I can do cold, a bit of rain), but just not being miserable or getting a full experience because of it (fog, closed sights, etc.)