TTP Users’ Comments

Here are unsolicited comments I received from travelers planning trips to Turkey who have used Turkey Travel Planner and/or my consulting services to plan their trips. (I’ve withheld names to preserve privacy, according to their wishes and TTP’s Privacy Policy). (Here are press comments.)

It makes me really happy to know that my work, offered to all for free, has helped millions of travelers to discover this fascinating country, its people, culture, history, natural beauty and cuisine.

Why not send me a message? If your comments are positive, they’ll make my day. If they’re consructively critical, they will help me to improve TurkeyTravelPlanner.com for the benefit of future travelers.

“First of all, I love your site. It is one of the most comprehensive and well structured sites I’ve come across … it communicates that sense of “place” that other websites don’t.” Lynn R, American family living in Dubai, August 2014

“Thank you for your website on travel in Turkey, which is so useful, intelligent, and comprehensive! Your Lonely Planets are classics, to my mind, which will always be on my shelf.”— Dr Jane B, Oxford professor, March 2010

“Your website is a complete blessing for those of us responsible for booking a family holiday. I have never come across such a well oiled machine of a website.I suspect I will go back to it again and again even without the prospect of another trip anytime soon. So much to see….” —Ailsa M, UKApril 2009

“…the best and most thorough travel planning website on a single country that I’ve ever seen.”

“This site is the best web site I’ve ever seen about Turkey.” “Full of details, pictures, knowledge, examples, guides, religion details and everything.” (From a Turk…)

“I have never found such a wonderful and personal site before on the web.”

Accurate, helpful and reliable
“…every thing you told us was accurate, helpful and reliable.”

From a “Young Turkish Female
“…it is really rare that it is presented so clear and simply objective.”

I must say, your website is by far the best I have ever seen on Turkey. (From a Turkish lady in Germany.)

I hardly found a better made site for a tourist than yours on Turkey. (From a travel writer and pilot in Italy.)

Gives Confidence
” Your website is just wonderful and gives me more confidence to do and see more each time I look at it.”

One of the Best I Have Seen (from a website developer!)
“Your site sucks people deeper and deeper in…”

Proactively Getting Lost on TTP
“It’s like you lose your way on your trip and discover some delightful secret….”

Better than a Well Loved Travel Book
“I’ve spent the past 3 weeks planning our first trip to Turkey using not much more than your site…”

Good consultation!
“You helped to turn a void in our vacation into what could potentially be one of the highlights….”

Even Turks Like TTP! 
“As a Turk who is living in US, I will refer all my friends….”

I Want to Thank You for Doing Such a Great Job
“While I was surfing on the net I came across with your site and found it unbelieavable….”

A Huge Help
WOW! Your sight and suggestions were a huge help….

Every destination should have such a well-researched, easy to use resource…

Good job!
“It brought back lots of memories….”

Your site has told me everything I need to know
“It is so difficult to find unbiased and useful advice on the web…your site is unique.”

Beats Books & Other Sites
“Your site is the best I have found, beats books and other sites hands down.”

The Info That Can’t Be Found in Books
“The information that cant be be found in Travel Guides… you have in this site!”

Awesome Site
“Even our Turkish friends were surprised by the quality of the information you present.”

Best One Out There
“I’ve done lots of research on the web and your site is definitely the best one out there.”

Uzun soluklu TTP çabanızı bu konuda anlamlı bir adım olarak değerlendiriyorum….
A Turkish TTP user says the site is a contribution to international understanding. (In Turkish)

Far More Detail
“I am usually a fan of the lonely planet and rough guide sites but this has far more detail and info – thanks!”

Good Site Structure!
“The structure of your site is unique….”

Like a Virtual Trip
“I feel like I’ve already taken a quick trip and now can easily plan my daily activities….”

[TTP] Was the Only Site that Gave Me the Info I Needed
“After hearing about the earthquake this morning [early May 2003] in South East Turkey I was trawling various sites to see what I could find out….”

US Embassy Official
“Your web site was funny, informative, and right on target….”

Easy Navigation
“Your website is so easy to navigate, it has so much USEFUL information! I can’t tell you how difficult some people make their travel sites….”

Good Trip Planning
“The trip we planned with your help was wonderful – a real trip of a lifetime. All of our plans worked out and the arrangements couldn’t have been better….”


Hi Tom,

I was confused yesterday because of our religious holiday and I was searching on yahoo if today was Regaip Kandili or Beraat or Mirac Kandili. After I searched it on Yahoo I saw your description and just clicked.

I was impressed.

This site is the best web site I’ve ever seen about Turkey. Full of details, pictures, knowledge, examples, guides, religion details and everything.

I used to be a guide in Cappadocia area when i was in high school and I know a couple of Travel Agencies and their web sites but non of them has a web site like yours.

Thank you so very much for introducing Turkey with a beautiful web site like this.

Thanks alot,

Regards
Mahmut S.

(Back to Top)

Dear Tom,

This is just to say thanks and compliment you for developing the best and most thorough travel planning website on a single country that I’ve ever seen. It’s very, very useful and you’re doing good to a lot of people by writing and keeping it.

All the best,

Ricardo
Brasilia – Brazil

(Back to Top)

Dear Tom:

I wanted to first say thank you for the wonderful site that you have put together about Turkey. I am an experienced traveler and I have never found such a wonderful and personal site before on the web….

Best wishes,

J~ C~

(Back to Top)

Dear Tom,

I just wanted to let you know how greatly you contributed to an incredible two weeks in Turkey for M~ and me. Between your website and your private consulting, every thing you told us was accurate, helpful and reliable. The hotels *the Esbelli Evi and the Mavi Ev* were just wonderful and we very much benefitted from your being their good friend.

If you ever need me for a testimonial, just say the word!

Thanks again,

L~

PS: We loved Turkey and our trip!

(Back to Top)

Dear Tom,

I have just come across with your TTP website and found it really good.

I am a young Turkish female currently living abroad. People often bother me with funny questions about being a Turkish woman. I have read until now many comments about Turkey but it is really rare that it is presented so clear and simply objective.

I really appreciate your observations and advices.
Have a good day,

D~

(Back to Top)

 

I must say, your website is by far the best I have ever seen on Turkey.

Hi Tom,

I am a Turk living in Germany and I will take a German friend of mine to Istanbul in the coming days. So I was I was looking for some info material in English on Hamamsin Istanbul and luckily I have come across with your website.

I must say, your website is by far the best I have ever seen on Turkey.

The content is absolutely true and very amusing. I almost cried of laughter when I read the Turkish driving habits. And also, about the basic facts on the Turkish language; it’s amazingly correct.

Thank you for your interest in my country and I will definitely advertise your website; no traveller to Turkey shall miss it.

Best Regards, F~ Ö~

(Back to Top)

 

I hardly found a better made site for a tourist than yours on Turkey.

I just wanted to tell you that. It has been helpful for me in planning a little journey to Turkey.

I crossed Turkey in 1971 and 1973 on a VW (going to India) and I am thinking to visit again Istambul in a month (by airline) and the major sites on the Aegean coast down to Antalya in spring. We will be a group of 7 and we will go there on two amphibious aircraft, from Como, Italy, where we live (30 min. flight distance from Sankt Moritz).

I see that your site includes only a few information on general aviation. If everything proceeds as planned, I will send you fresh information for pilots wishing to visit Turkey with their own aircraft and pictures of Turkey from above (hoping in the weather…).

You make a nice job! …

Thank you again. Come to Como if you will transit in this area.

C~ B~, Como, Italy

Dear Tom,

I had no idea last time I mailed you that I was mailing such illustrious company!! Only now do I discover all thebooks you have written. Well better late than never.

I guess your website has more up-to-date info than the lonely planet books? If so I think I will be spending hours in the library on the internet!

My trip is coming together and I’m really enjoying planning it and working out for myself where I want to go based on the info available.

This for me is a milestone. I am on my own for the first time this Christmas, after 10 years of being a fiancee/wife, and wanted to do something different, if for no other reason, than to prove to myself that my get up and go has not got up and gone.

Your website is just wonderful and gives me more confidence to do and see more each time I look at it.

best wishes

A~

(Back to Top)

One of the Best I Have Seen

Tom,

Awesome web site. One of the best I have seen.

I build web sites for a living. People want to pay me for design/graphics that lose the purpose and actually drive people away. Your site sucks people deeper and deeper in.

Good job.

N E

(Back to Top)

 

Proactively Getting Lost on TTP

Merhaba! I stumbled into your website via Google while surfing for info on Anatolia [Two University of Auckland pyschologists, Russell Gray and Quentin Atkinson, report in “Nature” that the Indo-European language tree originated in Anatolia 8,000 years ago]. I have always been fascinated by Turkey….

I came to your website and have enjoyed every second and every story. It’s like you lose your way on your trip and discover some delightful secret and you are so pleased to have got lost and you say, “screw the program” and go on proactively getting lost. Thank you!

RN, NJ, USA

_________________________

RN,

You’ve made my day, not just because you say nice things, but because you apparently used my site just the way I designed it to be used….

When I set about making the site I gave some long, hard thought to how to set forth the info, and I came up with “optimized hypertext:” not just linear text with links but “text objects,” discrete concept-topics treated in shortish (well, mostly shortish) pages. The whole idea was that users could ramble and roam through the topics as they caught their interest. And you did!

Thanks,

Tom

(Back to Top)

Better than a Well Loved Travel Book

Tom

Thanks so much for the TTP!!! It is literally the best the trip planner I’ve ever come across.

When we travel, my husband and I like to do it “our” way, rather than having to rely on joining tour groups.

I’ve spent the past 3 weeks planning our first trip to Turkey using not much more than your site and can’t wait to get there now!

Words just can’t describe how useful the TTP has been to me but I’ll try a few:

• Clear

• Concise

• Logical, practical links (e.g. the Turkish airport code table!!!)

• An obvious personal love of the country —> Inspiring!

All this and more makes the TTP read better than a well loved travel book – so far, I haven’t even opened the brand new Rough Guide I bought over 4 weeks ago now!

Many thanks!

Kind regards-

A M

P.S. Funnily enough, I found your site via a simple Google look-up on “Turkey Travel Warnings” – we’re Aussies and currently the Aussie gov’t has a warning against all non-essential travel to Turkey for Australians. After spending a couple of days getting lost in your site (it’s addictive!), and checking similar but not quite as strong warnings from the UK and U.S. gov’ts we decided what the heckand just went ahead and booked and can’t wait for our 2-week trip at the end Aug/beg Sep!

 

Good Consultation!

Tom,

The consultation with you was invaluable. You helped to turn a void in our vacation into what could potentially be one of the highlights of the entire three weeks.

Thanks for the advice.

F~

(Back to Top)

 

Even Turks Like TTP!

Mr Brosnahan,

I just wanted to thank you for creating such an informative and enjoyable travel site for Turkey. As a Turk who is living in US, I will refer all my friends who are planning to travel to Turkey to your site.

Again, I appreciate your efforts and wish you all the luck in your travels.

Thank you,

AMG
(Back to Top)

 

I want to thank you for doing such a great job

Dear Tom,

I really would like to thank you for preparing a web site like this and assisting people wishing to travel to Turkey.

I lived in Australia for about 6 years…spent some time in London…then returned to Turkey.

Last night, while I was surfing on the net I came across with your site and found it unbelieavable. I became a member of your forum rightaway.

I wanted to thank you for doing such a great job, and secondly if you need any information about Gallipoli/CANAKKALE I would be more than happy to provide you with them.

I am one of those who believe Turkey is one of the tourism heavens in the world. And my biggest desire would be to take part in the best possible introduction of Turkey in the tourism sector.

With my best regards,

M V

(Back to Top)

 

A Huge Help….

Just back from 2 weeks in Turkey with my sister in law. What a great trip! We spent a couple of days in Istanbulat Empress Zoe. Then flew to Izmir. Rented a car and drove to Sirence [Sirince] and Ephesus. Then followed your suggested route through the lake district to Konya. Then up to Goreme.

WOW! Your sight and suggestions were a huge help.

Thanks so much! I’ll be leaving some info in the forum.

M W

(Back to Top)

 

Every destination should have such a well-researched, easy to use resource…

Wow—I am so happy to have found your website. Every
destination should have such a well-researched, easy to use resource like this to demystify the process.

I am 31 years old, and have done a good deal of travel—throughout southeast asia, latin america, Europe and North Africa.

My mom, on the other hand, has not left the United States since a trip to Mexico in the 1960s. I had been trying to convince her to come with me on a trip to Turkey in 2005, but she was a little wary of travelling to a such a different part of the world.

I sent her the link to your site, and it completely pushed her over the edge. It took away a lot of the apprehension, but also got her totally jazzed on the incredible variety of activities and places that Turkey has to offer.

These days, especially, Americans need to get a world perspective. I’m very excited to travel with my mom to Turkey. Thanks so much for all your work on this website.

Best,

E~ W~, Washington, DC

(Back to Top)

 

Good Job!

Tom,

I stumbled on your article about the Cicek Pasaji while preparing for another trip to Istanbul.

One thing you didn’t mention in your article, because you didn’t know about it is that during the middle and late 50″s the “Flower Bazaar” was also the 2nd home for the Marine security guards at the American Consulate, in additon to the vendors, pimps and catamites you spoke of.  I visited it last year and even met a waiter who befriended us  “Yanks” way back then and actually remembered me from 1958.

It’s good to know you were able to dine off a slab of marble.  All we were offered was a square of plywood.  They must have upgraded in later years.

The facility looks nothing like the one I knew back then.  Then there actually were many flower stalls in existance with only a few eateries.

Anyhow,  just wanted to say GOOD JOB.  It brought back lots of memories.

B. E.
USMC (Ret)
(Back to Top)

Your site has told me everything I need to know

What a great website. I enjoy trying to visit a city every year for a long weekend (they are getting longer every year) and it is so difficult to find unbiased and useful advice on the web that is not sponsored by one thing or another. So Istanbul it is for us in April 2004 and your site has told me everything I need to know.

Well done your site is unique amoungst great swathes of useless, unresearched and unhelpful sites that are on the web today!

KB, UK

(Back to Top)

 

Beats Books & Other Sites

“Your site is the best I have found, beats books and other sites hands down.”

MZ, Peabody, MA, USA (MZ later called for a private itinerary consultation.)

(Back to Top)

 

The Info That Can’t Be Found in Books

“First may a congradulate you on your site. The information that cant be be found in Travel Guides… you have in this site! It is truly a Travel Planner site for Turkey.”

J & M C [no location available]

(Back to Top)

 

Awesome Site

my wife and I are in the very early stages of planning a trip to Turkey and luckily we just discovered your awesome site. Even our Turkish friends were surprised by the quality of the information you present. All your efforts are trully appreciated.

JP, Boston, MA

(Back to Top)

 

Best One Out There

“After reading as much of your web site as possible and exchanging some emails with other people, I decided to cough up the extra money for a flight from Athens to Istanbul and just spend a few days in Istanbul instead of visiting the west coast. I’m not happy about paying for visas as well, but it would be a shame to pass up the opportunity to go there while we’re so close.

“Thanks again for your help. I’ve done lots of research on the web and your site is definitely the best one out there.”

David

(Back to Top)

 

Far More Detail

Hi,

First of all – GREAT website – I am usually a fan of the lonely planet and rough guide sites but this has far more detail and info – thanks!….

Yue

(Back to Top)


Uzun soluklu TTP çabanızı bu konuda anlamlı bir adım olarak değerlendiriyorum….

Sayın Brosnahan, internette gezinirken tesadüfen sitenizi keşfettim ve çok beğendim. Emeğiniz için size teşekkür ediyor ve saygılarımı sunuyorum. Türkiye’ye yeniden uğradığınızda sizinle tanışmak ve İstanbul’un dilediğiniz yerinde size yemek ısmarlamak isterim.

Geçen hafta, çalıştığım şirketin bilgi teknolojileri (IT) uzmanı arkadaşım ‘Green Card’ alarak uzunca bir süreliğine çalışmak üzere Seattle’a yerleşti. Tabii bu yerleşme A.B.D’yi tanımak için değil, ekonomik göç dediğimiz olgu nedeniyle…Ama yine de görülüyor ki, dünya üzerinde yaşayan insanlar yaşlı gezegenin tasşıdığı sayısız insanı soruna rağmen eski zamanlara kıyasla birbirlerine daha yakınlaşıyor, gerek turizm gerek teknoloji ve gerekse ekonomik ilişkiler nedeniyle birbirlerini daha yakından tanımaya başlıyor.

Akıl almaz toplumsal ve ekonomik uçurumlara rağmen ben dünya insanlarının aralarındaki tüm sorunlarını günün birinde çözeceğine inanıyorum. Bunun için bence insanların birbirlerini tanımaları ve her türlü önyargılarından kurtulmaları gerekiyor. Uzun soluklu TTP çabanızı bu konuda anlamlı bir adım olarak değerlendiriyorum. Dini, milliyeti, cinsiyeti, kültürü, egıitim durumu ne olursa olsun – insanlık suçu işleyenler dışında – tüm insanları benim eşitim, benim öz kardeşim olarak görüyor, çalışmanız için size tekrar teşekkür ediyorum.

Thank you Mr. Brosnahan

(Back to Top)

 

Good Site Structure!

Hi Tom,

I was directed to your travel planner through a post on Lonely Planet’s Thorn Tree, and I’d like to say that you’ve done a fantastic job. Thanks for your help, I think the structure of the site is unique, it is easy to use, and is of great value to potential travelers (especially myself!).

Cheers,

Hannah E

(Back to Top)


Like a Virtual Trip

Hi Tom:

am returning to Istanbul for the first time in 30 years. I loved the city then and can’t wait to return. Big difference this time round: last time I was living on less that $5 a day and staying in a tent in a campsite outside the city! (Yes, I was of the early users of Frommer’s Turkey on $5 a Day.)

This time – well, a very good hotel. That being said – I’m still a tourist who wants to see all the sights and walk the city again. Thanks to you, I feel like I’ve already taken a quick trip and now can easily plan my daily activities.

What a great website you have created! It’s very informative, with a wide variety of useful facts for every sort of traveler. Site was easy to navigate and it didn’t take forever to switch back ‘n forth between pages.

Thank you,

Maureen

(Back to Top)


[TTP] Was the Only Site that Gave Me the Info I Needed

I just wanted to say how helpful and informative I found your site. We’ve travelled to Turkey once before (to Side) and loved it, so had booked to go to Dalyan in two weeks. However, after hearing about the earthquake this morning [early May 2003] in South East Turkey I was trawling various sites to see what I could find out – and yours was the only one to give me the information I needed. The site was then so interesting that I spent half an hour exploring it and was very impressed! Keep up the good work!

Kind regards,

Faith

(Back to Top)


US Embassy Official

December 4, 2002

Tom,

My wife and I just returned from a short 4 day visit to Istanbul. Wanted to let you know that your web site was funny, informative, and right on target. We plan to return next year for another 4 days or more. We now have an “evil eye” in the house, in the car, on my key chain…….what can I say, we loved it!

Regards,

(An attaché at the U.S. Mission, Geneva, Switzerland)

(Back to Top)


Easy Navigation

Dear Tom,

Thanks a million for your really helpful email. Very nice of you, and the information is perfect. I really like trains, so I’ll probably do the sleeper. But I also might try the afternoon train; I think I can buzz out of there a little early on Friday! I looked at your hotel picks, too.

You website is so easy to navigate, it has so much USEFUL information! I can’t tell you how difficult some people make their travel sites. Yours is a sheer joy and I will be happy to tell everyone about it.

Thanks again!

(Back to Top)


Good Trip Planning

Dear Tom,

I can’t remember if I ever got back to you after our trip to Turkey this past summer. We were gone for 5 1/2 weeks and upon our return were immediately thrust into the “real world” that is only just now allowing us time to catch up on correspondences etc. that we had meant to take care of as soon as we returned.

The trip we planned with your help was wonderful – a real trip of a lifetime. All of our plans worked out and the arrangements couldn’t have been better. 5 1/2 weeks was too long to be gone – but was still not near enough time to see all the things we would have liked . (We were in Israel and Jordan (Petra) for 3 weeks and Turkey for 2 1/2 weeks.)

I find myself gazing over all our pictures again and again in an attempt to relive so many enjoyable moments that we shared.

We rode a Ulusoy bus from Istanbul to Safranbolurented a car in Ankara and drove it to CappadociaAntalya, and then up the Aegean coast to Izmir, spent two days on small boats in the Mediterranean in Kas and Fethiye, and then flew from Izmir to Istanbul before our flight back to the States.

Getting around on our own was wonderful, a little “exciting” at times, but the real highlight of our adventures. All the people we met along the way went out of their way to help us navigate and communicate. Our only regret was that we did not rent an air conditioned car – that heat wave in early July along the coast even had the natives panting…Not bad for four novice travelers!!!

The people in Turkey were wonderful. One of the highlights of our trip was spending the night with a Bahai family that we met during our pilgrimage in Haifa, Israel. They were from the Safranbolu area and welcomed us to their home after they returned from Israel and we were in Turkey. We feel so blessed to have been able to make last summer’s trip. Today’s events in Israel make our time abroad even more treasured. We pray for some peaceful solution to the troubles of the region.

Thank you so much for your advice and suggested itinerary. We wouldn’t have gotten far without your advice. I hope the year has brought you much happiness and new exciting travels. Thanks again for all your help.

Sincerely,

Gayle and Brooks Michael
Asheville, NC, USA
(name used with permission)

(Back to Top)

—Tom Brosnahan


TTP Forums

Read Tom’s Mail

About Turkey Travel Planner

Travel Details FAQ

Best Guided Tours

Best Itineraries

TTP Homepage

Visit our Facebook group:

Best Travel Agencies